zapkasce.blogg.se

Skate kitchen movie
Skate kitchen movie







skate kitchen movie

So the film and the crew started simultaneously? I met them and we all started skating as a group, and we decided to call ourselves The Skate Kitchen. So Nina reached out to all of her other girl skater friends that lived in the city. She wanted to make a short film with us in it for this brand called Miu Miu. Then, we became friends with her and introduced her to other girls that we skate with. One of those weekends when I was with her, this lady came up to us on the G Train and asked if there were more of us-meaning girl skaters. Yeah, before I actually moved to the city I would come out on the train every weekend to skate with Nina. So I just moved here when I was 18, and have been skating the city ever since.” “I always knew I wanted to live here when I went to college. So I just moved here when I was 18, and have been skating the city ever since. I always knew I wanted to live here when I went to college. She showed me all the spots and introduced me to everyone. I started going out with her, and she was showing me all around. A lot of the footage was based in New York because it’s just so cool to skate here. How did New York City come into play as far as coming here and skating? I was just having fun and learning what they were learning. What was your progression from first seeing it to going to skateparks and learning tricks?Īt first, I skated alone. I was like, “I wanna learn that one day.” I remember he was trying to learn a tre flip. That made me want to skate-basically, just seeing him. Tell me a little bit about your history and how you got started skateboarding.

skate kitchen movie skate kitchen movie

I have a feeling that we’ll be seeing much more of her both in and outside of skateboarding in the future. My biggest takeaway from meeting her is that whatever that “it” factor is, Vinberg definitely has it. Slightly reserved and a bit wary of the sudden fame that found her almost by accident, Vinberg broke down how The Skate Kitchen crew and film came to be, why female skateboarding’s current moment is so important for the culture, and where she sees this movement going in the future. Given the waves that her crew has been making lately, I decided to catch up with her during adidas’ 3MC launch event at The Flower Shop in the Lower East Side, where she was showing her photography alongside a group of influencers hand-picked by the brand to tell their own personal stories of experiences wearing the shoes. Similar to Clark’s cult classic, Skate Kitchen is loosely based on the girls’ real lives with founding member Vinberg at the center of it.Īt only 19, Vinberg can best be described as a millennial incarnation of the prototypical Downtown New York It Girl who happens to have a mean tre flip. It stars Rachelle Vinberg opposite of Jaden Smith in what looks to be a 2018 version of Larry Clark’s Kids told from a female perspective. A significant crossover moment is set to happen next month when Crystal Moselle’s film about the crew is released in theaters. From features in Nylon and Paper magazines to Nike campaigns, these girls are clearly destined for stardom. Just as in Stacy Peralta’s classic 2001 documentary Dogtown and Z-Boys, this gives its audience a sense of the almost pastoral innocence of skateboarding, its devotion to nothing more or less than having fun: a subversive urban vocation that is dedicated to the art of pleasure.Over the past couple of years, The Skate Kitchen has been everywhere.

Skate kitchen movie how to#

But there is trouble when Camille is unsure how to negotiate the obvious sexual element of the group dynamic in Skate Kitchen and she falls out with fellow skater Janay (Ardelia Lovelace) after forming a friendship with Janay’s ex-boyfriend and skater Devon, played by Jaden Smith – who offers a more digestible performance than in his other films. We get a wonderful opening sequence when Skate Kitchen drift through the streets, raising mayhem, to Junior Senior’s Move Your Feet. But soon Camille is sneaking out of the house, hanging out with Skate Kitchen and smoking weed with them, triggering some hilarious stoner conversations on the subject of whether and why the little top-hatted guy on the Monopoly board no longer has a monocle. Rachelle Vinberg plays 18-year-old Camille, whose overbearing mom very much disapproves of her skateboarding adventures after a gruesome accident necessitated a visit to the emergency room.









Skate kitchen movie